Skip to main content

Canadian Football League (CFL)

Unleashing the Thrill of the North


Welcome to the electrifying world of the Canadian Football League (CFL), where the passion for football meets the rich heritage and vibrant diversity of Canada. In the CFL, every game is more than just a sporting event; it's a celebration of a time-honored tradition that binds communities and fans across the nation. Here, we delve into the heart of the CFL, bringing you closer to the action, the teams, and the unforgettable moments that define Canada's premier football league.

History and Evolution

The Canadian Football League, with its roots tracing back to the 1860s, stands as one of the oldest professional sports leagues in North America. Officially inaugurated in 1958, the league has become a staple of Canadian culture, offering a distinctive flavour of football that combines agility, strategy, and heart-pounding action.

The Game

Diverging from its American counterpart, the CFL is played on a larger field, featuring 12 players per side, and a set of rules that promote a faster and more open style of play. The league is renowned for its exciting three-down system that encourages more passing and fluid movement, resulting in high-scoring, entertaining matches.

The Teams

Currently, the league is composed of nine fierce teams, segregated into two divisions: the East and the West. These teams represent cities from coast to coast, embodying the spirit and enthusiasm of their respective regions. Here are the teams along with their home cities:

  • West Division

    • BC Lions (Vancouver)
    • Calgary Stampeders (Calgary)
    • Edmonton Elks (Edmonton)
    • Saskatchewan Roughriders (Regina)
    • Winnipeg Blue Bombers (Winnipeg)
  • East Division

    • Hamilton Tiger-Cats (Hamilton)
    • Toronto Argonauts (Toronto)
    • Ottawa Red & Blacks (Ottawa)
    • Montreal Alouettes (Montreal)

Iconic Events

Among the highlights of the CFL season is the much-anticipated Grey Cup, a championship that transcends sports to become a nationwide celebration. This annual event, often brimming with pageantry and fervor, showcases the two best teams battling for glory and a place in history.

Community and Legacy

The CFL holds a special place in the heart of Canadians, serving as a unifying force that brings people together through the love of the game. The league actively engages with communities, fostering inclusivity, and promoting grassroots development to ensure the continual growth of Canadian football.


As we embark on another exhilarating season, join us in experiencing the unique blend of competition, camaraderie, and celebration that is the Canadian Football League. Whether you're a seasoned fan or just beginning your journey into the world of CFL, we welcome you to a community where every game is a matter of national pride and a testament to the spirit of Canada.

CFL Teams

CFL Team NamesRegion
BC LionsVancouver, British Columbia
Calgary StampedersCalgary, Alberta
Edmonton ElksEdmonton, Alberta
Saskatchewan RoughridersRegina, Saskatchewan
Winnipeg Blue BombersWinnipeg, Manitoba
Hamilton Tiger-CatsHamilton, Ontario
Toronto ArgonautsToronto, Ontario
Ottawa Red & BlacksOttawa, Ontario
Montreal AlouettesMontreal, Quebec

Trademark Disclaimer

All trademarks, service marks, trade names, logos, and other intellectual property rights displayed on this site are the property of their respective owners. PickShack is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any of the entities owning such rights.